Tuesday, March 18, 2008

The 12th Annual PRISM Nominees are...

I am honored to be one of the judges for the annual Prism Awards. They do such important work in the world, honoring films and television which accurately portray addiction in the media.

Among the top feature films nominated in various categories are Michael Clayton, Lars and the Real Girl, Gone Baby Gone, In the Valley of Elah and Georgia Rule. 2008 Academy Award® Nominee Casey Affleck (Gone Baby Gone), Ryan Gosling (Lars and the Real Girl), Felicity Huffman (Georgia Rule), Ben Kingsley (You Kill Me) and Tom Wilkinson (Michael Clayton) are all competing for "Performance in a Feature Film."

Two-time PRISM winner for "Comedy Series Multi-Episode Storyline", Desperate Housewives, is nominated once again, along with Ugly Betty and Tyler Perry's House of Payne. "Comedy Series Episode" nominees include individual broadcasts of Aliens in America, The Game, Girlfriends, Samantha Who?, and The Simpsons. Christina Applegate (Samantha Who?), James Denton (Desperate Housewives), Teri Hatcher (Desperate Housewives), Eric Mabius (Ugly Betty) and Demetria McKinney (Tyler Perry's House of Payne) are all nominees for the "Performance in a Comedy Series" honor.

Honorees are selected by a 60-person committee of entertainment industry professionals and technical experts from the fields of medicine, mental health, and addiction. This year's ceremony is set for April 24, 2008 at the Beverly Hills Hotel, and will later be broadcast on the FX Network.

No comments: